The Reconstructed Bra Show

44D32D19-E8F3-4723-A77C-F82266DBF341

Vamping it up before the show.

A funny thing happened on the way to the bra show. I ended up appreciating my healthy body just a little bit more.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 7.49.42 AM

My beautiful bras. “Laughter is the Best Medicine” by Maria D’Astolfo and “Treasure Chest” by Krissy Mielenhausen.

When Stacy Quarty asked me to volunteer to model this year, I didn’t want to do it. I REALLY DID NOT want to do it. First of all, I’m kind of a prude. Secondly, my youth–and all the wonderful things that come with it that we all take for granted when we have it–is long gone. The days of having my 28-year-old body are in the distant past. Actually, I’ve  lamented that loss for a longer time than I had the pleasure of enjoying the treasures of it. So it goes.

IMG_5577

The catwalk lineup. Sorry about the shadows.

But The Reconstructed Bra Show is an amazing fundraiser for Lucia’s Angels and the Coalition for Women’s Cancers at Southampton Hospital, and I felt that it was time to give back–especially as I know too many people who have fought and lost, and also fought and survived, breast cancer. Also, superficially, I figured that forcing myself to walk down a runway half-naked would be the kick in the pants I needed to hit the gym and start the long journey of reclaiming my body.

It was a BIG and SCARY risk, and one a decision that I regretted from the moment I committed. Yet I’m a person of my word and I’d never ever back out and intentionally leave someone in the lurch.

So, I did it. Kicking and screaming the ENTIRE way. It was hard, and very humbling, but I’m glad I did. I’m proud that honored my commitment. I’m thrilled to have been able to help raise money to battle cancer. And I met some really generous and wonderful women and men whose very presence at the event at the Southampton Social Club last night have made an incredible impact and helped me to find my courage. I’m grateful.

Thanks to everyone who participated in this amazing event. Your support is most definitely appreciated. xo

Leave a Reply

