Wine & Dine: Topping Rose

img_4649

Dawn Watson photos.

I had the honor of dining at Jean-Georges’s Topping Rose in Bridgehampton last night. I went for fun with a friend and not for a professional review but I think it’s always good to share some impressions.

Not having been there since the kitchen was under the direction of Tom Colicchio, I’ve been extremely curious about the restaurant. As I know that both chefs favor a high end vegetable-forward, farm-to-table experience, my expectations were just as high with this newish iteration as they were for the Top Chef guru’s fare. I was not disappointed.  The food was delicious, though definitely on the expensive side.

img_4634

I started with a Cucumber Mint Martini, though made with vodka and not gin ($18). It was very, very yummy and refreshing, but best imbibed only once. There was also a delicious sip of the Sancerre, Jean Vincent 2013, Loire, France ($15) to follow.

We didn’t do starters but I enjoyed the Bay Scallop special appetizer, which was served atop pureed cauliflower ($21 I think). Mmm mmm good. Additionally, I tried the Roasted Romanesco, Brussel Sprouts, Balsamic and Herbs side ($9). Tasty. My friend had the Bucatini and Short Rib special (???), which I recall from past visits under the former management has always been perfectly prepared. She agreed.

We shouldn’t have ordered dessert but it’s hard to say no when you’re having a luxury culinary experience. I tried a cappuccino ($8) and the Almond Cake, Poached Quince, Pear Sorbet ($13), which was quite good and the pear sorbet was outstanding! I’m definitely making that sorbet at home. She tasted the Yuzu Saint-Honoré, Coconut Cremeux, Kaffir Chantilly, Yuzu Curd ($13) which was okay if a  bit understated for my taste, particularly as it sounded so intriguing. We also sipped an incredible Moscato d’Asti, G.D. Vajra 2015, Piedmont, Italy ($14) or was it the Chardonnay Blend Diosa, Wolffer Estate 2012, Hamptons, NY ($17)? Hmmm. Whatever it was, it was a great note to end on.

Recommended, but not for the faint of wallet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

