Summer Reading List

6896_b97fc7e213-egs-160404-0091-2

Since tomorrow is the fall equinox, I’m technically not out of time for this summer reading list, though I am not very timely as it relates to practicality. Apologies. It’s been a busy season.

Even though the autumn is upon us, there’s still plenty of time to head to the beach with your favorite book. Just pack a layer or two in case it gets slightly chilly. Since Labor Day, I’ve been doing my best to catch up on my stack of summer reading. I’ve managed to not just plow through a bunch of books by local authors/novels with East End connections but also to discover a few really, really great reads.

Here’s what’s been on my bedside table of late, in reading order. Thanks and apologies to the authors and press people who have been kept waiting.

“Living with Lexington” by Kristina Lindhe. I browsed through this beautiful coffee table book by one of our favorite frequent visitors from Sweden who also spends tons of time in East Hampton (yes, there are, surprisingly, a few of them) when I got it earlier in the summer. But then I revisited it the second I could, actually diving in the night of what was supposed to be our big tropical storm Hermine, right after my duties were completed at Grand Prix Day at the Hampton Classic. This book is gorgeous. And Kristina Lindhe, the Founder/CEO/Creative Director of The Lexington Company, is an absolute doll. The book is a perfect blend of her simply elegant style. Love it! So glad I own it.

“The Westhampton Leisure Hour and Supper Club” by Samantha Bruce-Benjamin. Hand-delivered to me by Bonnie Grice, our friend-in-common–who absolutely raved about this book–it became immediately clear to me that Ms. Bruce-Benjamin did her homework about the Hurricane of 1938, the history of the East End and the people who inhabited it at that time. The novel, a slow-burn thriller of sorts with a dash of Edith Wharton thrown in, really transported me and I enjoyed it immensely. Can’t wait to read what Ms. Bruce-Benjamin writes next.

“Bright, Precious Days” by Jay McInerney. Oh boy oh boy was I ever thrilled to dive in to this one. Having read and loved his two previous stories about the lives of Russell and Corrinne Calloway (as well as most of his other work in books and magazines too) I was champing at the bit to learn every little facet of these fascinating character’s lives. This third installment most definitely did not disappoint. Jay, please write more. And then more. And then more. Bravo!

“Learning From LongHouse” by Jack Lenor Larsen. Those who know me know how much I love LongHouse. I will treasure this book always. It’s a wonderful picture story interwoven with the genius of Jack Larsen, who is, in my opinion, the most significant textile designer gracing this planet today and a heck of a personal inspiration.

“Seinfeldia” by Jennifer Keishin Armstrong. I’ve always been a huge fan of the show, and still watch it when I can. What I like about this book is that it tells the story from inside, with lots and lots of great stories from the writers. It’s less a fan’s book about the actors, though there are plenty of interesting details there too, than it is a story about the people behind the scenes. Definitely not a book about nothing. I ripped through this book on the plane headed to a wine country trip to California and thoroughly enjoyed every page. I also read “The Inseparables” by Stuart Nadler and “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins on that trip and highly recommend both, though neither has a Hamptons connection that I know of, besides being on the shelves at our local libraries and bookstores.

I’ve still got a handful to read, including “Rembrandt’s Shadow” by Janet Lee Berg. That one’s on the top of my list, especially since Janet was the host of my old writing group years ago and I adore her. Plus, the based-on-a-true-story novel about stolen artwork and the Nazis looks to be absolutely riveting. After that, I’m diving in to “Shrink: The Autobiography of a Psychotherapist” by Dr. Martin Obler, with Jed Golden, and “Without a Head” of th “Dying To Be Beautiful” series by M. Glenda Rosen. Cheers to cracking open a good book or two.

 

 

Leave a Reply

