Great Books of 2016

AlecBaldwinEdBurns

I snapped this quick shot of Alec Baldwin and Ed Burns during last year’s Authors Night fundraiser.  Dawn Watson photo

I’m in the thick of it in helping to plan for this year’s Authors Night at the East Hampton Library–what  a terrifically fun thing I get to do!–so I thought that sharing a few literary tidbits would be appropriate.

First off, have you SEEN who is coming to Authors Night this year? It’s an impressive list, and one that is getting even more exciting by the day. BTW–the annual fundraiser will be on Saturday, August 13, from 5 to 7 p.m.

Here are a few of the notables who are coming so far: Jonathan Adler, Arlene Alda, Dan Barber, Kate Betts, Ed Burns, Allison Pataki, Michael Weiss, Dr. Ruth, Bob Caro, Dick Cavett, Phil Keith, Tom Clavin, Charlotte Moss, Simon Doonan, Bob Drury, Nelson DeMille, Eileen Duffy, Stewart Lane, Katie Lee, Emily Liebert, Robyn Lea … It’s a great mix of talent. And just wait until you see who signs up next!!!

While I’m on the subject of our treasure trove of renowned writers with local connections, congrats to the always gracious and wonderfully talented Allison Pataki, whose “SISI: Empress On Her Own” recently hit the New York Times Bestseller list. Woohoo!

” I wanted the story of this incredible woman and her fascinating life to reach as many readers as possible, and I wanted this book to travel as far and wide as possible,” she says of the book. “Well, I needn’t have worried, because all of you, the absolutely amazing readers, helped me to launch this book in ways that humble and inspire me! I cannot even begin to tell you how deeply grateful I am to all of you for reading the book, talking about the book, posting about the book, and cheering SISI on! In this moment I don’t really have the right words to fully express it, but please just know that I am sending out some powerful gratitude to all of you right now.”

I can’t wait to see her again come August at Authors Night, if not before.

 

Leave a Reply

