Foodie Fun

I got to try my first-ever Cronut (tm) yesterday. Heavenly!

I got to try my first-ever Cronut ™ yesterday. Heavenly!

Yesterday was a red letter day for the foodie in me.

I started off the morning at a VIP reception for the “Stirring the Pot” series ender at Guild Hall in East Hampton. Awesome. There I got to see some good friends and catch up on my Hamptons news. Plus, it’s always fun to rub shoulders with fellow food aficionados. And the Altaneve sparkling wine was simply deelish.

The main reason for the occasion–to hear a talk with New York Times writer Florence Fabricant and Cronut (TM) creator Dominique Ansel–was fascinating and so much fun to get the inside scoop. Plus, I finally got to taste the delicious pastry delicacy that is the one and only Cronut (TM). YUM, YUM, YUM!

The croissant/doughnut hybrid is easily the best dessert of its kind that I have ever eaten. Now I see why people stand in line at Mr. Ansel’s downtown NYC bakery on Spring Street in my old ‘hood for hours.

Despite the fantastic Q&A, the morning did have its challenges. It was touch and go for a bit, as I heard whispers that the pastry deliverer had gotten delayed by a flat tire. Yikes! I anxiously camped out in the back of the John Drew Theater, holding my breath and worrying about missing out on the promised treat. Thank goodness the precious cargo made it just in time! Whew!

Dominique Ansel and Florence Fabricant In the green room at Guild Hall in East Hampton.

Dominique Ansel and Florence Fabricant In the green room at Guild Hall in East Hampton.

Here’s more info about talk, which ran last week in the Sag Harbor Express.

http://sagharboronline.com/cronuts-cookie-cups-culinary-innovation-on-tap-at-guild-hall/

Leave a Reply

