Hamptons To Represent at the Grammys on Sunday

<a

<a

The 57th annual Grammy Awards will be broadcast this Sunday, starting at 5 p.m., live from the Staples Center in LA. Once again, our East End will be well represented during the show.

Amagansett’s Paul McCartney will perform “FourFiveSeconds” with Rihanna and last summer’s North Sea visiting renter Kanye West. I applaud Sir Paul for keeping it current but personally I much prefer his earlier work with those lesser-known (ha) lads from across the pond.

Water Mill’s Madonna will sing “Living for Love,” which is from her latest, “Rebel Heart.” I like her older stuff better too. Perhaps I am getting too old for the Grammys? My first sign was that I can’t stay up late enough to watch the entire broadcast; the second was that I don’t know who at least half the nominees are. Oy.

Bridgehampton summerer Beyonce, who is nominated for Album of the Year and a few other significant awards, will join Common and Legend for a rendition of the gospel song “Take My Hand, Precious Lord.” Another sign that I’m becoming a real fuddy-duddy — I’m offended by anything associated with “50 Shades of Grey” and do not like the “Crazy in Love” remake they keep playing with the trailer on TV. Perhaps I should take my Geritol now, as apparently I’m getting feisty.

Amagansett’s Chris Martin, whose Coldplay is nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance and Best Vocal Album, is also scheduled to perform. He’s tall. And nice. And “Yellow” is one of my favorite love songs. See, I’m not a complete curmudgeon.

Taylor Swift, who apparently just spent a girls’ weekend here, is nominated for a number of awards. She is not scheduled to perform but will present Best New Artist award.

Wishing good fortune on Barry Manilow, who once sat in front of me (WITH Lorna Luft–I was in HEAVEN!!)  at a Bay Street Theater production of “Big Maybelle,” as he is up for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album. Also to Dianne Reeves, a super lady who I interviewed back in the day to advance her concert at the Westhampton Beach Performing Arts Center, who is nominated for Best Jazz Vocal Album.

Leave a Reply

