Hamptons Revolution

 

The Historic Reenactors of the 3rd New York Regiment Brigade of the American Revolution visited Mulford Farm in East Hampton yesterday.   Dawn Watson photos.

The Historic Reenactors of the 3rd New York Regiment Brigade of the American Revolution visited Mulford Farm in East Hampton yesterday. Dawn Watson photos.

DMW_8973 DMW_8976 DMW_8985 DMW_8994
This is something you don’t see every day in the Hamptons, or anywhere else for that matter.
Yesterday morning I’m at the East Hampton Library talking about this year’s Authors Night (it’s on Saturday, August 9, by the way so mark your calendars!) when a guy walked in wearing period garb. Unusual but not the strangest thing I’ve seen in the last week by a long shot.
Turns out he was one of the reenactors on his way to the the East Hampton Historical Society’s “Muskets, Militia and More … A Revolutionary Idea” event, which just happened to be starting at the precise time that my meeting was due to let out. I’m so glad that a) he stopped by, otherwise I would’ve freaked out when I heard the succession of firearms discharging and b) that I had my trusty camera with me so I could capture the action. I love being in the right place at the right time!
Of course all that reminded me that the organization has a fundraiser coming up on Saturday. The East Hampton Historical Society “Cocktails at Holly Hall” will be held on June 14 from 6 to 8 p.m. Visit http://www.easthamptonhistory.org to learn more and purchase tickets.

Leave a Reply

