Sag Harbor Summer: A Few of my Favorite Things

When it comes to my favorite places and things out East, Sag Harbor tops the list. Not surprising since I chose to live in this beautiful village. I’m not knocking the rest of the Hamptons by any stretch; there are tons of amazing places here, it’s just that the Hahba is home.
Yesterday I had a most amazing luncheon at Richie Notar’s Harlow East (formerly the hotspot owned by the beautiful-inside-and-out B. Smith, to whom I’m sending lots of love and positive thoughts). Before sitting down, I just happened to run into Bay Street Executive Director Tracy Mitchell. What a treat! And thanks Tracy for graciously listening to me blather on and on about how AMAZING “Conviction” was.
For lunch out on the deck, with a beautiful view of the bay, I had the Chinese Chicken Salad and the deconstructed and completely rethought Strawberry Shortcake. Both were excellent but the dessert was a truly wonderful surprise and the perfect way to end the meal. I can’t wait to go back for a sunset cocktail and dinner sometime soon.
Afterwards, I skipped over to Xavier (I positively adore the salon AND the man) for a 24 KT Gold Facial with Eva. It was phenomenal!!! I can’t recommend the combination of her expertise and Xavier’s products enough. And my skin is positively glowing.
I also absolutely must give a shoutout to Anne Sanford of LURK, who makes the most amazing and beautiful natural scents from essential oils. My favorite is the PRJ V1, which is made with jasmine, rose and petitgrain. Stop by the shop on Water Street for a truly refreshing and unique experience.
Other favorites of the moment are the new BuddhaBerry frozen yogurt cafe and The Juice Press. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t always have a place in my heart for The Sag Harbor Baking Company, The Juicy Naam or The Back Page Cafe for my dessert and juice fixes. I’m simply sharing the love. And then there’s the American Hotel, a classic favorite, and Sen for terrific Japanese, and my favorite Chicken Caesar Salad (plus I love the whole gang over there) at Cappelletti Italian Grill on Noyac. Oh, there are so many, many fantastic places here.
Then there are the wonderful people–many, many who I call friend. Yesterday I had the privilege and thrill to hang out again with Bonnie Grice during her Media Mavens hour on “The Eclectic Cafe.” It was wonderful to get back on air and do one of my very, very favorite things. Thanks lady for having me back on!
Thanks also to good friend Lisa Tamburini, who came quick as a flash yesterday afternoon to take photos for a piece I’m working on. Stay tuned for the share here on that in a few weeks. I’m pretty excited about this one.
I could go on and on, but it’s time drive a few miles outside of the village (gasp) for my standing Saturday morning coffee date at Hampton Coffee Company–a perennial favorite!–in Water Mill. And then it’ll be on to Long Beach so I can work off my past and future weekend dining treats.
Ciao for now. Happy Saturday!

The dockside view at Harlow East.   Dawn Watson photo.

The dockside view at Harlow East. Dawn Watson photo.

Leave a Reply

