Billy Joel was at the Hampton Classic yesterday

Billy Joel was at the Hampton Classic yesterday

I was supposed to go to the Classic yesterday for a luncheon hosted by Christopher Robbins and Kenneth Wolfe but wasn’t able to make it because I was in Riverhead picking up my brand new car. Woohoo!
The only bummer is that I missed the Piano Man. He was there with his girlfriend, Alexis Roderick, who rode in this year’s competition. Darn!
It wasn’t the absolute end of the world since the musician and I both live in Sag Harbor (though his digs are certainly more resplendent than mine) and he’s frequently in the village.
The very first time I saw Billy Joel was during a concert in Indianapolis. That was during his handstands-on-the-piano days and boy did he ever put on a show! Little did I know that later on in life he would be a commonplace sight in my neighborhood.
The last time I saw Billy, he was tooling around Main Street on his motorcycle. He parked in front of Schiavoni’s grocery store, climbed off the bike and then walked around to the sidecar to collect his doggie biker companion, a pug. It was adorable.
One of the most memorable times I saw Billy though was at the American Hotel, also in Sag Harbor. I was interviewing the world-renowned architect Preston Phillips outside on the porch and there was a fairly boisterous table next to us. Lo and behold, it was Billy, two ladies and Mets first baseman Keith Hernandez. Awesome.
I’m “Keeping the Faith” that our paths will cross again soon as Billy is a passionate supporter of many of our local organizations and causes. I took the attached photo of him, Bob DeLuca and Alec Baldwin at last year’s Group for the East End benefit at Wolffer Estate Vineyard in Sagaponack.

One thought on “Billy Joel was at the Hampton Classic yesterday

  1. Pingback: Life’s Playlist… Piano Man by Billy Joel | Notes from a Southern Kitchen

Leave a Reply

