Bon Jovi to Gov: ‘I’ll Be There For You’

Bon Jovi to Gov: 'I'll Be There For You'

Even though the band won’t be able to perform at the New York State Fair as earlier planned, East Hampton part-time resident Jon Bon Jovi will be headlining a fundraiser for Governor Andrew Cuomo in Sagaponack on Sunday night.
That gig almost didn’t happen either though, as Sagaponack Village officials initially wouldn’t grant a permit for the benefit. Eventually, after some deft finessing, the board members gave their stamp of approval to the event, to be held at the home of Caryn and Craig Effron.
Officials of the chi chi 4.7-square-mile village–which has been in the top five in the Forbes “Most Expensive ZIP Codes” in America study for the past several years–are known for being exclusive and uninterested in drawing crowds to the wealthy enclave. But it’s not like a hobos will be attending the Cuomo fundraiser; at prices ranging from $1,000 to $25,000 a ticket, I doubt that any of the riff-raff will find the cost accommodating.
On a side note, yes, that’s me with Jon at a Great Chefs tasting event a few years ago. It’s the only picture I have of him so apologies for ruining it by being present. Here’s the great thing though–I asked the rock star if I could take a picture of him for the newspaper and he responded, “only if you take it with me.” What a cutie!
Props to good friend and HPG webmaster Courtney Ratcliffe for jumping in and taking the photo.

2 thoughts on “Bon Jovi to Gov: ‘I’ll Be There For You’

  1. He seems like such a genuinely nice, down-to-earth person, which is great to see given the fact that many of the rock stars I idolized in my high school years have arrest records and have been in and out of rehab for the past 20 years!

Leave a Reply

