James Lipton, Bert Sugar and Juliet Papa announce at the Artists & Writers Game

James Lipton, Bert Sugar and Juliet Papa announce at the Artists & Writers Game

Tomorrow the legendary battle that is the annual Artists & Writers Game continues at Herrick Park in East Hampton.
My first exposure to the game came approximately 20 years ago when I was still living in Manhattan. I was walking down the street outside the Citicorp Building, where I then worked for the law firm Willkie Farr & Gallagher, and I happened upon this tall, gangly man ambling toward me. His walk, and look, were so distinctive that there was no question who he was, yet I didn’t want to put him on the spot.
“You look like Kurt Vonnegut,” I said.
“I am,” he replied, and extended his hand to me.
We talked for awhile–about architecture, writing, Butler University (my alma mater, and where he delivered the commencement address the year after I graduated) and the city of Indianapolis (where Butler is and where his father and grandfather did a lot of architectural work). It was one of the most amazing 10 minutes of my life. I did somehow resist the urge to tell him I was a huge fan but needless to say, I was and am a huge fan.
After telling me that he had a daughter about my age, Mr. Vonnegut invited me out to the Hamptons to meet her and watch him play in the big game. I didn’t go, and I regret it to this day.
I’ve been to the game many times since, and have even managed to play ball with many of the regulars. Oh, the stories I could tell …
Until then, play ball!
Attached is a terrific article by the talented Michelle Trauring, who writes features for me at the Press. Hope you enjoy her story as much as I did.
http://www.27east.com/news/article.cfm/Wainscott/27652/Artists-And-Writers-Game-Turns-65

Leave a Reply

